It's been quite wet and icy around here lately, which begs the question: Why do people start driving like FRICKING IDIOTS in these road conditions? These aren't bad driving conditions. They're bad DRIVER conditions.
This is the general dialogue I believe is taking place within these cars:
Idiot Passenger: Oh my god. AN ICE! Drive as slow as you can!
Idiot Driver: Ooh, okay.
OR
Idiot Passenger: A RAIN! Slam on your brakes! There could be more rains around!
Idiot Driver: -Gasp- Okay!
Personally, I'm convinced that the reason there are accidents in bad weather is because people who are driving a normal speed suddenly come upon some idiot going 10 mph. That's when the brake-slamming causes an issue. I just don't get it. I've witnessed people slam on their brakes the minute a rain droplet touches their windshield. Why do people seem to think that THAT is safe?
It's been a while since I learned to drive, but I have a sneaking suspicion that "Go 25 mph on the highway if it's raining" is not part of the class.
Don't get me wrong--I can see slowing down if the rain is coming down so hard you can't see. But that's what the WIPER BLADES are for. TURN THEM ON.
Rant complete.